Solution for traffic - providing free public transport 24 hours per day, and seven days a week

Traffic congestion

The best way for governments to solve the problem of traffic congestion is providing free public transport in 24 hours per day, and seven days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been a discussion about whether the governmental authorities should address traffic halt by supplying shared vehicles free of charge all day and all week. While I believe that this brings several benefits, I would argue that it has also a number of negative impacts on the society. It leaves no doubt that there are several reasons for making public transport uncharged as a means to deal with the increased number of vehicles during rush hours. Firstly, it may act as a contributing factor to reduce private cars and motorbikes on the road. This is because when buses or trains are free of charge, people have a tendency to take advantage of them rather than their own vehicles, which leads to a decline in traffic problems.

Secondly, proving shared transport all day can change people's attitude towards means of transportation. For example, if officers leave their company at late night, they have almost no choice apart from driving their cars or motorbikes. Thanks to the provision of buses and underground, they can go home safe and sound without any difficulties. This gradually gets them into the habit of making use of public transport more frequent and at any time of the day. However, there are several alternatives which can be implemented to deal with the problem of traffic jam. Firstly, it is understandable that transport infrastructure should be upgraded. By doing so, the roads are widened and people have more space to travel without having to afraid of inching along the streets. Broader roads also means higher speed for all vehicles, therefore, the amount of traffic at the same time on the road may be significantly decreased leading to less congestion. Secondly, relocating industrial zones to the countryside is another effective solution to traffic jam in big cities. The high concentration of massive companies in those zones results in a wave of job seekers moving from rural to urban areas, which imposes a burden on transport system. The relocation helps cope with traffic halt by reducing road users, especially at rush hours when employees come home from their workplace.

In conclusion, while a free and all day available public transport may seem to be a beneficial solution, I believe that other more effective measures should be taken into consideration to deal with traffic congestion.