IELTS writing 2 : Solutions to low-cost airlines' enviromental damage

Topic : today's low-cost airlines are able to offer fast and cheap travel. However, some people believe this is at a cost to the planet.

Suggest ways that governments and individuals could tackle the enviromental impact of low-cost flights.

In recent times, travelling by plane has become more affordable thanks to the dramatical decrease in airlines prices. This ; however, leads to the issue of enviromental pollution as planes burn fossil fuels at a higher rate than any other form of transport. It seems to me that both governments and individuals have roles to play in this situation. This essay will outline some solutions to this problem and evaluate their potential effectiveness.

To reduce the detrimental impacts of this issue, laws should be made and enforced by the governments to restrict licences for further low-cost flights. If this was done, it might decrease the number of low-priced airlines which may contribute to less usage of fossil fuels. However, some governments might be wary of implementing this measure as it seems highly unpopular with the majority of the population.

Beside the vital role of the governments, it is ultimately consumers whose awareness should be raised in order to sort out this problem. It may be effective to educate people about how inexpensive airlines would cost the enviroment. Furthermore, drawbacks of low-priced air travelling such at frequent delays should also be clarified to discourage travellers from unnecessary flights despite cheap air fares.

To summarize, cheap airlines offer air travel at low prices which do not reflect the enviromental damage caused. Although legislative measures could be taken by the politicians to reduce this trade, it is my belief that education on the enviromental damage caused shoud be the main priority to dissuade people from choosing this mean of transport.