IELTS 2 - Solving food waste issue by raising awareness and generating energy

Every day, millions of tons of food are wasted all over the world. Why do you think this is happening? And how can we solve this problem?

identifying the reasons of food waste

In recent years, food waste has been becoming an emerging issue around the world. Given that the problem causes some significant environmental impacts, identifying the reasons is key to finding the solutions.

There are a number of reasons why this issue exists. First, a large of leftovers are thrown out into the environment every day over the world. as a result, this food can not disintegrate themselves, which contribute to global warming. Second, since each type of food has its own expiry date, after this date, food become inedible, they need to be disposed of. In fact, if people try to eat this food, they would get food poisoning, which makes them have to go to the hospitals.

However, there are also a variety of solutions to diminish this problem. First, governments and corporations can produce other productions from food waste to use for many other better purposes. For instance, some nations have taken steps to turn organic materials from food waste into biogas, generating electrical power at very low cost. Second, by raising awareness of people about the food usage, it can improve this problem. For instance, if a person knows how to use food properly, he or she can decrease the leftover.

In conclusion, even though food waste seems serious in today' s world, there are various ways to recycle it. Raising awareness and generating energy can be two of the most useful ways to tackle food waste.