whether solving the problems needs understand the past?

thanks a lot *^_^*

topic:To solve the problems present and future, is it necessary to understand the past? Use specific reasons and examples in your explanation.

Does solving problems present and future necessitate understanding the past? There are thousand Hamlets in thousand people's eyes. Frankly, I would agree with the author's general assertion that learning the past is an essential way to solve problems present and future. Some reasons will be shown as follows.

First, learning the past can help people solve present or future problem more effective. If there was a same or similar problem in the past and coincidently, if people know how past people solve such problem, they can use this knowledge to solve the present problems. If the solution of present problems is based on past experience, such problems can be solved quickly and exactly.

Second, learning past can help people avoid unnecessary trouble. Similar to the first reason mentioned above, if people are familiar with the trouble, the past people met when they solved the problem, they can improve the method of present problem to avoid such trouble.

Now, more and more educators were aware the importance of learning past. So, many high schools and universities have offered the history course since several years ago. Such course may help their students become more competent than other students graduated from those schools which did not offer history course.

Third, from the business point of view, learning past can help a corporation reduce its cost, avoid some failure and become more productive. Let me take CD&D, one of biggest underwear company in China, as an example. CD&D recorded almost every problem it and its competitive company met since nine years ago. After doing that, the CD&D provided a program that required its employees to learn such knowledge regularly. By doing so, the average time of its employees to solve problem has reduced sharply and at the same time, its cost has also reduced due to improved method. What's more, it helps CD&D avoid some catastrophic failures which made by its competitive company. Such core competency leads CD&D gradual becoming a biggest company.

One may argue that learning the past will restrict people's creativity, because people may use past method to solve the problem and need not to consider a new method. To give the devil his due, it sometimes may be true; however, this issue may overestimate the effect of this problem and overlook some important factors which can avoid such problem. Leaning past means that recent solution could use past experience to improve the solution of the same problem. So it not use past method directly.

In sum, so complex and so controversial is this issue that many people will have different views due to their respective angles. I would prefer that solving present and future problem need understand the past because learning past can make people more effective and avoid unnecessary trouble and can help company reduce its cost, avoid some failure and become more productive.