IELTS: Solving the traffic and pollution problems by increasing the petrol price - Agree/disagree?

Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

Because of the increasing technology invention, the human lifestyle is changing over the years. As such, the big problem of rising private transportation usage plays a crucial role in the growing of traffic and pollution. One argument said that recent increase in the petrol price is the best method to solve growing transportation problems. Therefore, I personally argue that this method is good solution, but other ways such as implementation of private car taxes might be an effective measure.

By and large, the increasing the petrol price will be a primarily considering of some people who want to use private transportation. In South Korea, the price of petrol is more expensive than other countries at around $2/litre leading to make Korean people use public transport. As it can be seen, others can do as well as this method to reduce the main factor of traffic jam and pollution problems.

Conversely, government policy to increase the petrol price is not always to be effective method for all people. The growing of petrol price exerts an influence to public transport fees. In Makassar as an example, when it comes to increase the petrol price, public transport owners start to raise the prices for passengers from Rp 3.000,- to Rp 5.000,-. As a result, some people of under poverty line will find it difficult to use public transport.

As far as I am concerned, other ways such as implementation of private vehicle taxes might be effective. Firstly, private car user will consider spending much money as taxes payment. In Japan, this policy has been started to implement, and results in citizen who prefer to use public transport or cycling. Secondly, government can take advantage of the private car taxes for additional income. Thus, it is possible as funding support to make advances in transportation systems for the purposes of reducing traffic and pollution problems.

The aforementioned evidence reveals that although the policy of increasing petrol price is the best way to reduce transportation problems, the implementation of private car taxes might be effective. Where possible, the government should evaluate the contemporary problems of transport systems and match with the several kinds of solution that is suitable to be implemented.