TOEFL: Sometimes it is acceptable not to tell the truth - not all lies are wrong

Thank you for deciding to review this essay.

Parents usually teach their children not to lie. However, when we grow older, we acknowledge that there are indeed a few exceptions. In other words, not telling the truth is occasionally acceptable. There are three main reasons to support my opinion.

First of all, people may live happier if they do not know the truth. Sometimes, people lie to you for your own benefits. For example, doctors usually lie a lot to cancer patients. It is a common truth that happiness can actually diminish diseases. Therefore, in order to get better, patients should not know how marginal their cancer is. Or at the very least, they can enjoy the rest of their lives in joy and happiness, instead of crying and waiting for death.

Secondly, in some cases, not telling the truth is not only acceptable, but also necessary. In the military, soldiers are trained not to tell the truth no matter what when under interrogation. The truth they are trying to hide from the enemy can closely associated with the lives of millions of citizens or with the national secrets. Moreover, in some countries, it can be considered a treason if you tell a "truth" about the government or military to the enemy or even to the public.

Lastly, it is understandable not to tell the truth when somebody asks you a personal question. We all have our own privacy and our own secrets. Therefore, we should respect others' private lives. In fact, in social class, students are taught not to ask new people they have just met three things: age, job, and marriage. If they do, they may have a terrible first impression.

In conclusion, not all lies are wrong because they can make people feel happier, help protect one's country, or simply safeguard one's privacy.