The only space available for building new homes is generally in the countryside

Hi guys! I am preparing my IELTS test and want to improve my writing skills. I wonder if you would like to help me check the following essay. Thanks a lot!

In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there.

What is your opinion about this?

the rise of urban expansion

As population of cities is growing and the demand of new homes has been increasing, it is inevitable that the cities are expanding outwards. Some people argue that the expansion of cities has caused huge damage to rural places so such expansion should be stopped. In my opinion, the development of rural places can be planned and managed better.

Nowadays, over-centralization has induced lots of problems in big cities, such as traffic jam, high housing price, stressful working life. The use of the vacant space in countryside is able to release the burden of the cities tremendously. As people can build more houses and roads outside the cities, the density will reduce, which improves development of the cities and the living quality of residents. For example, a decentralized city likely has more city gardens and open area for citizens.

Also, because more and more young people are relocating from the countryside to cities where they enjoy the convenience and abundant job opportunities, farms and houses in many rural countries have been abandoned. These areas can be redeveloped and become a part of the cities, such as warehouses, big shopping centers, organic farms, etc.

However, it is undeniable that due to lack of planning, in some countries, the environment has been damaged. For instance, farms which used to provide fresh food to the cities now have been turned into living buildings. Meanwhile, some historical sites are disappearing and ruined by the overwhelming construction, which has been a tragedy which could have been avoided by better planning and protection.

In conclusion, although urban expansion has lots of benefits, it should be well planned before development and under control as it is necessary to protect the countryside at the same time.