To speak a foreign language well, you need to adopt some of their traditions. - IELTS

In order to speak a foreign language well, you need to adapt to the culture of people who speak that language, and adopt some of their traditions.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

In this globalized era, people spoke or started to speak more than their mother tongue. Some individuals suggest being competent at the second or third language could come from absorbing foreign traditions. Likewise, I also agree with this idea. This essay will discuss this issue.

Clearly, connotation is an essential feature that cannot be learnt by books or taking a class. A good example is the word buffalo. This word is likely to represent power or endurance in western countries. However, it implies to be dumb or blunt in Thai tradition. Hence, if someone gives a compliment with this word to Thai people, this people would break the relationship with these Thais.

Similarly, using language proficiently usually includes the understanding of a real meaning which differs its physical meaning. To illustrate, people in several far eastern countries usually do not deny directly by beating around the bush. Consequently, western individuals who frequently speak directly may be tired repetitively to ask for help from far eastern people. Because they do not know they should stop.

Lastly, having advanced skills of a language relies on not only reading and speaking with a wide range of vocabulary and grammar, but also immediate interaction. Responding rapidly is necessary to think in that language in the head. To achieve this ability, taking that tradition and culture in can help. For instance, many Thai students have an incredible improvement of English language when they study in American or Britain.

Therefore, I agree that absorption of foreign tradition is a crucial key to considerably gain the language skills. Although it sounds pretty tough, there are many ways to reach this practice such as watching movies or taking overseas vacations. As a result, people can have great skills of the language easily and enjoyably.