Writing Task 2 - speaking local language helps to understand culture of a country?

Some people think that a person can never understand the culture of a country unless they speak the language. Do you agee with this opinion?

The majority of people regard that to attain valuable insights of others cultures. It is compulsory to speak the same language as they use. I would regard that this idea is true. Even thought, for some aspects, I have an opposite opinion.

On the one hand, the language can reflect people's culture. This is because it is an essential tool to communicate and scholars can analyze people's behavior through how they use the language. So if people speak the language of a country, they attain an array of cultural information. For example, it has been known that nearly all Sundanese people find a difficulty how to make a sound of letter "P" properly. They cannot pronounce distinctly between letter P, F and V. As a result, foreign people realized that they should not force them to pronounce those letters correctly since it is one of their behaviors that hard to be addressed.

On the other hand, people have an opportunity to understand other culture without speaking their language. There are several activities could be carried out to get more comprehensive understanding regarding the culture of a country. The first method is to read book and journal. That provides a lavish number of information of the country regarding their behaviors, characters and how people interact and mingle with their neighborhood. It also supplies recent data since cultural researches have been conducted annually. In addition, traveling abroad will be a beneficial factor to understand a culture because people are able to interact directly with native citizen and adapt with new cultures they believe.

In conclusion, it is clear to me that although learning language helps citizens to understand about other culture. There are alternative methods which more effective to gain a large number of information such as reading the cultural book and watching a movie.