Speaking same language in the future is good or bad?

Topic: scientists say that in the future humanity will speak the same language. Do you think this is a positive or negative social development?

Merging whole world languages into one

Nowadays, many languages such as English, Chinese or Spanish are becoming so pervasive that the majority of people can speak. Therefore, some scientists believe that the popularity of a language can lead to its domination all over the world. As far as I am concerned, this development has both positive influences and negative outcomes.

On the one hand, the global prevalence of a language certainly gives rise to various positive impacts. As we all know, there is an increasing globalization in many aspects, ranging from economy to finance and education. The same language, therefore, can help people cooperate to run a business more conveniently and productively, even they have different nationalities or from different ethnics. Consequently, it is obvious that if people speak the same language, there will be more opportunities for them. For instance, workers who are unemployed in many countries can immigrate to other nations to seek for careers without concerning about language barriers. This phenomenon can result in the global economy, where trades will definitely become much easier. Moreover, speaking the same language can reduce the gaps among different nations and cultures. It is inevitable that citizens who are from other continents or different peoples are capable of making friends and gradually become much closer.

On the other hand, this development may contribute to a variety of detrimental consequences. Even though residents have no limits in communication, speaking the same language may put a stop to their mother tongues. People may realize their first languages are impractical and no need to preserve them or pass them on to coming generations. More importantly, if a language controls throughout the world, it may undermine the cultural diversity because languages and cultures are compatible. The loss of the mother tongue in a nation may deter their cultural identity from flourishing due to the link between languages and cultural values.

In conclusion, the domination of a global language will result in both benefits and drawbacks. Even though it may bring about many advantages, I strongly believe the disadvantages outweigh the benefits.