TASK 2 IELTS: You don't need special talent to become a good sportsperson or music player

It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some individuals claim that any youngster can become a good sportsperson or music player whether they have talents or no talents. While some agree with this statement, I am, on the other hand, are against it owing to numerous reasons.

Advocates of this idea present a few persuasive arguments. They believe that by practicing a lot and put a colossal effort into playing sport or music, a child with talents or no talents can eventually be good at it. For example, many exceptional sportspeople or musicians claimed that they succeeded not because they are gifted but because they practice several hours a day. Furthermore, advocates think that becoming a good athlete or music player does not mean that that youngster has to be the best. The child can be taught to play football so he knows how to drill balls and to shoot them well but he does not necessarily have to become an international or world-renowned footballer.

On the other hand, opponents of the statement come up with some logical and realistic counter-arguments. To begin with, a child can easily give up a sport or a music lesson if he has no passion for it no matter how talented the teacher is or how much time he is forced by parents to practice. My friend, for instance, goes to piano lessons every day but she has no taste for it, and thus, she can never be a good pianist. Moreover, some untalented youngsters hate playing sports or music because they do not want to be a laughingstock before their friends. A child who sings terribly will inevitably be depressed when being forced to sing before her class.

In conclusion, although there are persuasive arguments in both views, I still strongly believe that not all children can be taught to be a good athlete or a musician.