Essay about general&specific education - Writing IELTS Task 2

In some countries, secondary schools aim to provide a general education across a range of subjects. In others, children focus on a narrow range of subjects related to a particular career, which of these two systems is more appropriate in today's world?

secondary schools curriculum

Some secondary school in several countries provide a general education across a range of subjects while students want focus on specific subject related with their future career which they expected. Personally, i feel that focusing on one subject is preferable to general subjects, and i will explain why.

On the one hand, perhaps by learning general subject, the students can solve many problems in the mass based on their knowledge which they got from secondary school. However, school which provide general subject teach too many subjects which sometimes some materials do not have related with their career in the future. Moreover, many students cannot focus on the subjects which they interest. This problems make learning ineffective.

On the other hand, by learning specific subject, students more ready to work because they have learned earlier which relate with their future career. With hoping students accustom to face same problems in the future. In addition, some countries which have good education system such as Germany, Japan, China, and Netherland have applied this method and proving that this method is appropriate for secondary school. Finally, students have choice working directly based on their major or continuing their education to university based on their interest.

In conclusion, i strongly believe that specific subject is more appropriate for secondary school student as learning method. Because the students can learn based on their interest and have related with their future career.