spend as much money as possible exploring outer space vs basic needs on Earth - TOEFL

Some people think governments should spend as much money as possible exploring outer space (for example, traveling to the Moon and to other planets). Other people disagree and think governments should spend this money for our basic needs on Earth. Which of these two opinions do you agree with? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

short term problems or basic needs are more important

Since the end of the second war world, the advance economies have allocated many resources in order to develop the spatial industry. In fact, recently, many developing countries are assigning some money to this project too. Many people has criticized this because they argue that we have some problems in the Earth; therefore, we do not need to waste money in exploring outer space but to find solutions to our basic needs on Earth. In my opinion, I agree with the idea that our main concern should be spending as much money as possible to solve our basic needs on earth; however, I also find useful to spend some money on exploring outer space. Most of my arguments are based on short term and long term considerations.

On the one hand, we face immediate problems related with basic needs on the Earth and these short term problems must be resolved as soon as we can. As a human race we can divide our problems in short and long term problems. According to this, we need to resolve short term problems first because there is not possible to move ahead without to solve them. If we see to our society, we can realize there are some short term problems such as poverty, inequality and deforestation. If we do not pay attention to solve these issues, it would be unsustainable to live in our planet because people would fight against each other for living. So first, we need to face our short term problems and reallocate as much money as possible to solve them.

On the other hand, we have long term issues that cannot be resolved without exploring outer space. For example, population is increasing and resources are decreasing; therefore, we need to develop a strategy to find and extract enough amount of resources from a different source. This lead to spend some money in this kind of studies. Indeed, some research about resources in other planets such as mars are being carried on. Another example could be the detection of asteroids that could impact with our planet. So, from this point of view, exploring outer space is justified too. However, we must keep in mind that these are long term issues , they are not actual issues.

In conclusion, short term problems or basic needs on Earth are more important than long term problems or exploring outer space. So considering this fact, I believe that we must spend as much money as possible in resolve our basic needs. This does not means that we have to put aside exploring outer space because it is important too, in a long term perspective, but we need to focus in short term problems in order to move on with the next ones. So, I will recommend to governments to use most of its budget in education, health and equality, and just a small part in spatial industry.