IELTS WRITING TASK 2: SPENDING TIME AND MONEY ON THE PROTECTION OF WILD ANIMALS - AGREE OR DISAGREE

funds for human aspects or wildlife protection?

Topic: Some people think that a huge amount of time and money is spent on the protection of wild animals and that this could be better spent on the human population. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought that a vast amount of time and money is allocated to human aspects, rather than the wildlife protection. I totally disagree with this view because of the following reasons.

People should invest their resources to the protection of animals in wildlife for various reasons. Firstly, wild creatures play an essential and irreplaceable role in human's life as well as production. To be specific, in terms of agriculture, pollinating insects such as bumblebees help to produce seeds for many of crop plants, therefore, the decline in such insects has provoked so much concern. Moreover, in terms of economic aspect, wildlife is the cornerstone of tourism, which has the effect of boosting the economy as well as creating many jobs. Human fascination with the wild animals is a driving force to develop the tourism and the economy in local areas.

Secondly, wild species are vulnerable to face threats from natural diseases such as fire, floods and droughts, and human activities such as hunting, poaching, and land-use practices. Meanwhile, the vanishing of one species can seriously impact on the existence of many others, setting off a chain reaction leading to the imbalanced ecosystem. For example, the near-extinction of gray wolves restored in the Yellowstone National Park due to overhunting leads to the significant decrease in beaver populations. This is because plants that are an important nutrient of beavers for winter survival are more heavily grazed by elk, without the wolf as its predator.

In conclusion, the importance of wild animals to a continued human existence has never been more obvious than today. They contribute to the development of human life from agriculture to economy aspect. Furthermore, they play a vital role in well-balanced ecosystems. Therefore, it is necessary to spend myriad time as well as money resources to inhibit them from extinction.