Sport amenities as an optimal method of making the public healthier?

The best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Discuss?

raising recreational complexes to improve public health

It is believed that the optimal method of making the public healthier is to raise sports amenities. In this essay, I am going to argue that such practice is futile and education is a superior way to enhance the health of the masses.

It is understandable why some advocate the idea of boosting recreational facilities to improve public health. Their main rationale for this is that by granting the masses access to these facilities, they are expected to do exercise more frequently, which helps them become healthier. However, such reasoning is flawed. Because increasing the number of sport amenities does not guarantee the improvement of public health. When people are unaware of their poor state of health, they will easily lose their own incentives to exercise constantly. My brother perfectly exemplifies this situation. He quit briefly after a few months signing up for a membership card at the local gym because he could not manage to maintain his motivation.

Instead of the aforementioned approach, I am of the opinion that education is a preferable option. This can be attributed to the fact that a better state of health definitely stems from the higher consciousness of health. Therefore, governments should perpetuate campaigns to raise the awareness of the general public about the significance of health. For example, my friend was successful to shred nearly 20 kilograms after he realized how overweight he was by going to the gym more often. Not only was he able to gain a lean body, he also became a model for other to take up the habit of exercising routinely and eating healthier. If this happened in a larger scale, the result would be much more dramatic and the public health would be upgraded significantly.

In conclusion, I believe that raising recreational complexes would produce meager results and education is a better alternative in order to improve public health.