Sport stars are paid too much for what they do. Discuss your opinion [IELTS]

the real value of sports stars

It is believed that sports are seen as social cohesion and a factor that affirms a country's position. So, being sport professionals is considered an extreme dream job with high remuneration. However, It has become a controversial issue in the entire world. A growing number of people believe that they should be not overpaid with their contribution. I tend to agree with this opinion and this essay will support my view with examples.

Firstly, Sport player' salaries are higher than skilled workers such as doctors, teachers, residents and so forth. In fact, each individual in the workforce plays an important role in contributing to the national income in a country and every player does their job as many others. Like sport stars, the president is often snowed under with paperwork. However, in some countries, the salary of president is even lower than sport stars. For example, in 2018, the salary of Neymar- a Brazilian striker in a week is more than the US president's income a year. Therefore, pay's sport start is not fair for well- educated works.

Another reason why we can object to their high salary is that they have bonus and overtime pay. In sport leagues, the winners are often received lots of bonuses from sponsors and sports leagues of the nation. Moreover, every sport professional often has their own business and their fame brings them more advertising contract as well. So, if they are paid a lower salary, it would be possible to have enough money to cover their life.

In conclusion, there is no doubt this payment is not only higher than skilled workers but also it includes their bonus and their overtime pay. I believe this remuneration should be changed in the fairest way. As a result, no one will be motivated to work anymore.