Sports which enhance team spirit are most beneficial but others advocate for individual competitions

WRITING TASK 2 : TEAM SPORT OR INDIVIDUAL SPORT?

Topic: Some people think that it is more beneficial to take part in sports which are played in teams, like football, while other people think that taking part in individual sports, like tennis or swimming, is better. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Answer:

People are likely to feel energetic when it comes to sport. While some believe that sports which enhance team spirit will be most beneficial, others advocate for individual competitions. From my perspective, both sides have their own merits and vitally become a refreshing part of people' life.

Team sports, namely soccer, basketball, volleyball, etc. have been played for a thousands of years and the benefits accompanied with the excitements they bring about are undeniable. Firstly, integrating oneself into a team gives individuals a chance to improve their communication skills. Since teamwork is a priority, people have to strive their best to cooperate and behave in a decent way, which will therefore have a good impact on one's social life, especially on children. Secondly, team building activities bridge the gap between people and widen their friendship network. When engaging in the game, one can become others' teammate regardless of gender, age, skin or various professions. This diversification significantly helps enrich the culture, widen one's knowledge for life and better understanding of others.

On the other hand, some people are supportive of individual sports, such as swimming, tennis, skiing etc. mainly because it boosts one's competitiveness to the highest along with their self-esteem. Thanks to this, players have a motive to improve themselves day by day and therefore become more confident when performing on the public. The next reason is that when competing alone, there is certainly no peer pressure. In other words, there will be no criticism if the player can hardly keep up with the team. Instead, the only motive driving them to success comes from within, which is much more powerful.

To reiterate, being a solo player or becoming parts of a team is equally advantageous since they teach people the necessary skills not only for the game but also for real life.

(words: 304)