If sports facilities can contribute to people's health or not, has always been a controversial issue

Whether building sports facilities can contribute to people's health has always been a controversial issue. There are valid arguments on both sides which I will consider in this essay.

On the one hand, some people would argue that the construction of sports facilities would need a lot of finance and space, which would be better spent on medical establishments and health research programmes. Obviously, there is no way that sport can help people with extreme cases, such as stroke, or people who are affected with major diseases like HIV and AIDS. As a matter of fact, most mental and internal disorders do not necessarily have a correlation with sport and can only be cured with the help of science and medicine. From a religious point of view, it would be a sin to ignore the ill and focus on sports.

On the other hand, sports facilities would definitely pay off by assisting the majority of population in maintaining a healthy lifestyle. Parents who are regularly engaged in sports activities tend to have healthier children. Sports can promote young adults as they would spend most of their physical energy and would less likely be obsessed with sexual emotions. That way it can also prevent earlier sex and reduce the ever-increasing cases of sexual assault. Finally, students who go in for gym are less reported to have ADSD compared to those who do not.

Overall, I believe that the benefits of new sports facilities outweigh their drawbacks. This is as long as more people are aware of their upside.