Essay about the sports sponsorships

sponsorship in sports events for advertising purpose

People have widely differing views on whether sponsorship in sports events for advertising purpose is necessary. Personally, I think that this trend does more good than harm.

On the one hand, many people claim that spectators or viewers only pay attention to sports events rather than caring about the products advertised. This means that the companies may waste abundant money without increasing the sale significantly. Another reason why people think that sponsorship should not be allowed is that many companies may showcase harmful products such as alcohol or tobacco and as a result, affects people's behaviors. Continuously being exposed to such products, young people may develop an association with them and get addicted to them. The effects can even be much greater considerable when there are millions of people watching those sports events every year.'

However, one deniable justification for sponsoring is that it helps remove the financial burden on organizers and also the sports players themselves, sports events such as the FIFA world cup requires millions of dollars to organize and coordinate and sponsorship covers most of this expenditure. Without sponsors, the spectator's ticket price may become so high that no one could afford and thus, the organizers may go bankrupt. Furthermore not only money, but sports players can also receive lots of equipment which will assist them in performing better. This is also a win-win deal when the companies can showcase their products and conspicuously, the more it appears, the greater reputation it will get. Many sports players these days even have their own fandom and these spectators willingly purchase anything their idols advertise as a way of supporting. Obviously, compared to other ways of media, this can be considered as one of the most effective ones.

In conclusion, sponsorship plays a pivotal role in helping mount an event, and in order to remove all the disadvantages, alcohol and tobacco companies and alike companies should be prohibited to sponsor.