IELTS writing task 2: state-funded public transport - agree/disagree

Some people think that public transport should be funded by the government so that it can be free to the people who use it.

To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Public transport has become a common vehicle in our daily life. Those means of transport has brought many benefits to our environment. In other word, the more people travel by public transport the more benefits are gained. Thus, I party approves that government should make it free for public transport users.

As I mentioned above, Public transport like bus is one of the key elements to improve environment quality for reducing the amount of pollutant particles stem from cars and motorbike, cutting down the expenses the government has to pay to solve air pollution. In addition, lessening the number of vehicles on the streets solve traffic congestion, benefiting the countries where bottlenecks are commonly the norm. Besides, to make it possible, the government should raise tax to balance the fiscal budget, motivating people to travel by public transport since they have paid for their trip through taxes

However, public transport includes not solely bus but also other expensive means of transport like train, ship and airplane, which cannot be totally funded by the state for the high price and not everyone travels by those vehicles every day, which makes it irrational for them to pay for the vehicles they do not use frequently. Hence, the policy should only apply for bus travelers who only need to travel in short distance. If the policy is approved by the state, not only the air quality will be benefited but the awareness of community will also grow since many poor people will be able to travel around easier.

In short, state-funded bus can facilitates air quality and increase the sense of community of people in a country. However, applying such policy to other means of public transport like train or airplane should be unreasonable for high price and having less travelers than pedestrians