Should state and local authorities offer tertiary education to all students with no charge?

Essay about tuition-free university

I hope to receive feedback on my writing. Thank you very much.

Some people think that everyone has the right to have access to university education, and that government should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Many argue that state and local authorities should offer tertiary education to all students with no charge, regardless of their financial conditions. While I accept that it would bring about some benefits, I believe that the government should consider financial support to the right people, not for all.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why universities should be easier to attend without tuition fees. Firstly, although some students have high academic achievements in high schools, they could not enter universities due to prohibitively expensive costs. Monetary matters become obstacles on education paths and future career paths of these students. Secondly, attending universities without fees would encourage people to pursue higher education, and get high qualifications. As a result, there would be more quality labors with professional knowledge and skills gained from courses in colleges.

On the other hand, I suppose that only students getting high achievements have opportunities to receive fee concession. Universities demand a huge budget to operate smoothly. Therefore, if it is free for all students to attend classes, there will be a heavy financial burden on the government to provide enough money to every university. Furthermore, offering scholarships or fee exemption to students gaining good marks is a good way to motivate other ones to attempt to improve their performance. For instance, those who regularly get average results can spend more time doing research and reading books to become top students to grant scholarships.

In conclusion, although tuition-free universities do have some benefits, I believe that financial support should be granted only for those who have top academic performances.