TOEFL: the statement that teenagers nowadays do not spend enough time in helping their communities.

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Young people nowadays do not give enough time to helping their communities.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Within the last few decades, there has been an unprecedented development in society. Therefore, young people are forced by their teachers to study hard and are assigned a lot of tasks after school. Furthermore, they have various access to entertainment because of the Internet. Even though some young individuals volunteer their services in spare time, they choose to help people far away from their regions or countries to have profound effects in the world. So I would like to agree with the statement that teenagers nowadays do not spend enough time in helping their communities.

First of all, facing heavy stress came from their parents and teachers, young people do not have enough time to pour into their communities. In campus, teachers give students a lot of materials to read and homework to do, which occupies a large amount of time in their lives. And sometimes when they accomplish assignments, they are required by their parents to cultivate skills, such as learning a second language or playing the piano. This sort of lifestyle keeps young people quite busy nowadays and cannot have other extracurricular activities.

Second, when young people have spare time on weekends, they are more likely to have fun with their friends to relieve anxiety. For example, due to the great assistance of the Internet, kids can watch TV series online for a long time and chat with their companies through Twitter or Facebook, which are very convenient and comfortable. Also, some young people are inclined to play online games to entertain themselves, which usually cost a few hours every time. What I want to argue is that, when they get rid of stressful work or study, they prefer to have a good rest, instead of helping communities.

Last but not least, it is hard to deny that some children do volunteer in their spare time; however, young people now would like to go far away from their regions, even countries. For instance, a lot of my classmates join some NGOs in Africa or Asia to contribute to charity. They may want to volunteer and help society develop, but the major focus of attention is not serving local communities.

In conclusion, I believe that young people do not give enough time to helping their communities recently, because they have a tremendous amount of pressure came from teachers and parents, and they are more possible to relax themselves during free time, not to mention volunteers joining foreign NGOs.