Essay on the short story "Rock Springs" by Richard Ford

I had to write a short essay 500words about the short story "rock spring." in the essay i had to talk about the element fictional time, how the story works as a whole, the techniques used, one-two moments where i found myself forming an opinion about a specfic character. could you please help me with my grammar and spelling. Also could you let me know if its good overall, and what should be changed or taken out. Thanks sooo much

In the tragic story "Rock Springs" written by Richard Ford, the subject of hopelessness is gradually expressed. The story mainly focuses on the life of protagonist Earl who embarks on a get away to Florida with his daughter Cheryl and his newly found love Edna. Earl's life in Montana seems to be filled with continuous complications, mainly due to him engaging in criminal activity. "Rock Springs" also consisted of the element "fictional time," providing the story with a reality-based feeling. Ford used great technique conveying a sense of character through detail and description. Earl's emotional distress led to a specific moment in the story that allows one to form a strong opinion about his character. "Rock Springs" is a story that highlights a characters struggle with trying to make his wrongs right. Earl believes to stay out of troubles way, yet throughout the story trouble is what continues to follow him.

"Rock Springs" takes place during the 1980's where society began reforming. Women were given the same rights as men, as well as society was beginning to move away from racial discrimination. Rock Springs, Wyoming is described in the story as being two sided. It was seen as a place where individuals were productive who went to work at the gold mines, as well as a place where criminal activity was prominent. The fictional time in the story stems from occurrences such as when Earl meets up with a "Negro" woman, who welcomes him not only into her home but also into her life. She states are husband is an assayer at a gold mine, which was something they waited along time for, since previously blacks were not given equal opportunity to Caucasians, making it hard for them to find employment. The word "Negro" was also lastly used to refer to a black person in the 1980's. The discussion between the woman and Earl about the gold mine represents a new beginning for Earl, since the 1980's reflected change, and starting over.

It could be argued that a story is fundamentally successful based on the author's usage of detail and description. Edna conveys a sense of character through the technique Ford used in his writing. Physical appearance is one of the techniques utilized: Edna's physical features are said to light up like a beacon so you could see her beauty (pg. 3). Her psychological profile also can be demonstrated by a story she tells Earl about a monkey she once had, and who died due to her carelessness: "Isn't that a shameful story, Earl, what happened to that poor little monkey" (pg 8). Her story about a monkey seems insignificant to Earl, but the reader can notice how the monkey's death strongly impacted her life, causing her sorrow. Edna drowns her agony away by drinking: "Edna had out a whiskey bottle and some plastic cups...She liked drinking..." (pg.5). Her actions suggest she is suffering from internal problems, which explains why she has a conflicting personality seen by her thoughts that continue to change. One minute she is for Earls plan about trading in his stolen Mercedes Benz in Rock Springs, while the next she wants to go home: "I'm tired...I wish I'd stayed in Montana" (pg 11). Edna overall is a strong willed woman who speaks her mind, and isn't intimated by Earls masculinity. She lets Earl know he is suffering from psychological issues: "You think the world's stupid and you're smart...I feel sorry for you. You might've been something, but things just went crazy some place" (pg 11). Edna's character is relatable simply because she is a character that conveys more than one aspect of great technique.

"Rock Springs" starts off with a family who hopes to better their lives in a new city. In the beginning Earl states "It felt like a whole new beginning for us, bad memories left behind and a new horizon to build on" (pg 3). As the story continues each character endures a self-discovery process. Edna discovers she wants to leave Earl, even though she strongly cares for him, whereas at the end of the story Earl discovers he is the reflection of societies misery. After he realizes Edna leaving he takes a walk outside where he looks into a Pontiac car that has a map, paperback books, sunglasses and cat box with a cat sitting in it. Earl thinks to himself that this car is similar to one he would have. By Earl looking through a window into a car similar to his denotes that there are others living a troubled life like his, but there is hope to have fewer troubles. He then wonders what individuals would think if they saw him looking into random cars, and he asks, "Would you think he was anybody like you?" At that very moment in the story, Earl became a normal person in society who was searching for perfection. He reminded me of all those individuals who struggle everyday, hoping for the better.

In the story "Rock Springs" written by Richard Ford focuses on the life of protagonist Earl who is surrounded by continuous problems. "Rock Springs" consists of the element "fictional time," providing the story with a sense of reality. Ford's usage of element gave the characters realistic and relevant attributes. Earl's suffering led to a specific moment in the story, where one could form a strong opinion about his character. "Rock Springs" is a story that emphasizes a characters fight with himself, when trying to fewer his troubles and problems. (how should I end it?)