IELTS Essay about stressful lives of modern-day teenagers.

Q. Today's teenagers have more stressful lives than previous generations. Discuss this view and give your opinion.

big pressure on youth today

Although the standard of living has improved in the modern age, yet teenagers are going through the strain in their lives unlike in the past. As time is changing, more and more children are experiencing pressures such as financial, academic, social and peer pressure as well pressure due to poor time management. I believe some of these pressures were also present in the past but they were not too strong back then.

Teenager of modern age is more stressed due to financial burdens. With the passage of time, more and more families are falling under the poverty line. This has resulted in stress in young children as they are directly affected by this. Furthermore, today's youngsters are experiencing stress as to perform better, compete with others, examinations, homework, getting admission in good college and meeting their parents' expectations are common these days.

Another source of anxiety in teenagers is to get accepted by peers and social competition. They have to participate in certain groups, keep themselves updated with latest fashion trends, trying new things such as smoking, drinking and sometimes drugs. when they try to be what they are not, it becomes hard to maintain that image and exerts mental pressure on them. Also, adolescents of our time suffer from stress owing to poor time management. They do not have time for breakfast, school, homework or for playing games. They get interrupted easily by modern day technology like mobile phones and computer and are left with little time to do important things. This also results in extra stress.

In conclusion, the modern-day teenager feels more strain due to pressure at school, financial stress, meeting social needs to remain accepted by peers and their inability to manage time well. I believe that these pressures were also found in older times but they have become more powerful and apparent currently.