IELTS: Strict punishments for driving offences - safety reasons?

Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about how to reduce the number of road traffic accidents to keep the road travel more safer. I believe both penalising the drivers and other effective measures would help to improve road safety.

On the one hand, It is true that stricter punishments to drivers could help greatly to decrease the traffic accidents. There are many types of penalties such as increasing the amount of fine, driving license suspension or revocation and even imprisonment. The purpose of these legal consequences is to create a sense of fear and responsibility among drivers so that they drive their vehicles more carefully. Driving under the influence of alcohol, for instance, lead to license suspension of the driver in many countries. This has decreased significantly the drunk driving related driving incidents. We would hope that higher fine fees and legal consequences would reduce the driving related accidents.

On the other hand, there are many other ways which can be implemented to improved road safety. Firstly, It is very important to educate our new drivers in the form of compulsory attendance at safe driving related courses and by making the driving book easier to understand for general public. Secondly, by installing more speed cameras at various random points of the roads would force the drivers to drive at the posted speed as over speeding is one of the major factors which contribute to road accidents. Finally, government should invest heavily in public transport, for example, adding more bus and train routes. and also keeping these vehicles in good maintained condition. This would attract commuters to use public transport instead of their cars which would result in reduce traffic congestion and less traffic accidents.

In Conclusion, while harsh punishments would deter drivers to drive unresponsibly, I also strongly advocate the implementation of other methods to improve road safety.