IELTS: Strict regulations can effectively reduce the problem of overfishing by large corporations

Thanks for reviewing my essay.

Overfishing of the world's oceans threatens many species with extinction and is putting the livelihood of millions of people around the world at risk. What are the causes of this

problem and what can be done to prevent it from happening?

You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Perhaps one of the most important issues which are often ignored in this information age is the issue of overfishing and its effects. Overfishing has caused severe problems to our society in multiple ways and in this essay, I will explain these problems and some solutions to avoid this growing problem.

First of all, the prominent reason for mass fishing is the profit oriented approach of large Fishing Corporations which hardly worries about the biological imbalance caused by its actions. Such unethical approach by people with responsibility leads to considerable damage to the biological cycle, in which ocean and its living organisms play a vital part. The most significant damage done by overfishing is the danger posed to the survival of rare species. While fishing, people may not intend to catch these rare species, but naturally these rare species also get caught in the nets and face extinction. One typical example is the drastic decline in the number of a specific type of jelly fish, called sea jelly, facing extinction.

Before these problems reach extreme levels, it is our moral responsibility to identify solutions for this menace. One way to control this would be to put strict environmental regulations, and more importantly, implementing them and monitoring our oceans and fishing done by multinational organizations. This, will, in turn, curb the problems of overfishing to a major extent. Furthermore, this issue should be brought to light by the government agencies and due awareness should be raised by the media to educate the society of this problem. Additionally, impact on ecosystem should be estimated and a remedy plan should be created to the ailing rare species facing extinction.

In conclusion, strict regulations can effectively reduce the problem of overfishing by large corporations, as well as raising the awareness puts ethical pressure on these entities to adhere to the guidelines. I think these measures would effectively stop mass fishing, paralleled by the advantage of saving the species which are facing extinction.