I am struggling with this essay : Agree or disagree "Watching TV is a waste of time for children" ?

watching tv by children

Nowadays, with the development of technology, many modern electronic devices have been used by people of all ages, especially children. One of the most popular equipments that we can easily see in every house is the television. TV has some advantages, however, I think watching TV too often is a waste of time for kids, teenagers or adults.

As everyone knows, television helps us relax, entertain and sometimes learn new things, but it also has a number of drawbacks that we don't know. First, if children watch TV too much a day, their eyes will be exhausted and really dry. After a long time watching television, of course, children will be shortsighted. Second, when teenagers watch TV, they will sit a lot, so they become lazy, hate doing exercises and their bodies will easily get fat. Beside, spending much time watching cartoons, gameshows or films on television can make children addicted to these programs and study less. For example, when kids and children addicted to cartoons, they will think about them all the time and can not concentrate on their lessons at school, so they will get bad scores. Last but not least, teenagers who waste too much time on TV may have some mental problems. In fact, they may have sorrow feeling, violent thought or scared of people and society.

In conclusion, everybody must limit the time spending on watching television and using these time doing exercises, volunteer, join campaigns and more.