Students' academic performance strongly reflects their teachers' teaching performance.

TOEFL:Teachers should be paid according to their students' academic performance

Students' academic performance strongly reflects their teachers' teaching performance. Admittedly, paying teachers according to their students' academic performance may bring some disadvantages like devious competitions for more wages. However, I personally believe that it will ultimately bring more benefits than detriments for it brings teachers incentives to pay more efforts and provide higher quality of teaching. Besides, it provides a more objective way of payment. Thus, I agree that teachers should be paid according to their students' academic performance.

Firstly, paying teachers according to their student's academic performance provide incentives to improve their teaching standard. Apparently, how well teachers are paid strongly influences their performance and teachers will pay more efforts to teach their students to improve students' academic performance in order to get higher payments which will make them live better. The higher payments will then encourage teachers so they will show more passions in their teaching. Besides, such method of wage measurement raises competition among teachers, which will also encourage them to make more efforts. For example, my high school sets up many different prizes for teachers and the main standard is the students' academic performance in his or her class. Under the encouragement of the prizes, our teacher works harder than other high schools which have no or less prizes. If teachers are not paid according to the performance of their students' academic performance, it is quite likely that they will pay less effort to teach their students.

Secondly, paying teachers according to their students' academic performance makes teachers provide higher quality of teaching. It is obvious that higher quality of teaching brings better academic performance. Paid according to students' academic performance, teachers will be encouraged to improve their quality of teaching. They will try to find better way to teach their students and make fewer errors, which will make them better teachers. For example, in my high school, teachers' bonuses are related to our performance. This make them pay more attentions to their teaching styles and they often ask us for feedback in order to make improvement, which can lead to better academic performance of students. If teachers are not paid according to students' performance, it is hard to figure out why they have to improve their quality of teaching.

Finally, pay teachers according to students' academic performance is a better way of payment. It differentiates teachers who care about their students' performance from teachers' who don't care their students but only the wages. It is apparently a fair standard measuring their students' performance. The achievement of teachers should not be judged only by their working hours or positions but by the overall influence they have on their students. Teacher's main job is teaching, providing knowledge to their students. So they should also be paid mainly according to their students' performance.

In sum, I agree that teacher should be paid according to their students' academic performance. If so, teachers will pay more efforts and provide higher quality of teaching. Besides, paying teachers according to students' academic performance is a just way of payment.