Should Students (not administrators) control their own education?

Topic : Students , not teachers or administrators should be in control of their own education.

Even though it is important that student should be given full control in planning their education, however, I feel that some control allotted to the teachers or the administrators would be beneficial for the students. This would helpful the students in a number of ways. They are getting proper guidance, following rules and help in career path.

To begin with, students require proper guidance. In the early age, students have the passion to do things. They have courage and motivation but without proper direction they might end up losing focus. For example, one of my friend was good in playing musical instruments. He was extremely passionate about this. But, as not being good in studies was forced by his parents to concentrate more on exams. As a result he left his interest in music. Important point to note is, there was no one to show him correct path that he could balance his time and concentrate on studies as well on his other interests. In this case, teachers would have been helpful.

In addition, students need to follow some rules shown by teachers and administrators. Students if not disciplined will waste their time. For example, some students in my college used to skip their classes regularly. They do not utilize this time rather would freak in college canteen. They had power to do this due to no strict rules implemented by the college administrator and teachers. Had there been minimum attendance rules where students need to attend at least minimum number of classes for each subject they would not have done this.

Moreover, student need help in career path. Teachers have good deal of information about the student's strength and weakness. So they can guide students in planning an effective career path. Students have high thoughts of becoming a doctor or engineer but in the end they just end up completing their undergrads in some course just to complete their studies. Teachers could guide the students on which field they should select depending on their interests and strengths.

Finally, I think that some amount of control should be given to teachers and administrators so that students effectively and efficiently select their courses , abide to rules and move in the right direction rather than wasting time and money.