IELTS Let students still have some challenges in art-based subjects, but not give mark on their work

Topic : Some educationalists argue that non-exam, arts-based subjects, such as music, drama, art and craft, should be compulsory in the secondary-school curriculum. They believe that activities such as these can improve overall academic performance. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Art-based subjects, such as music, drama and art are likely to make a positive contribution towards student's academic performance. However, they are not necessary compulsory or to be graded by exam as long as students can have an opportunity to study through these art-based subjects.

It is generally thought that there might not be always faire grading on student's work in art-based subjects. Each of us has a certain preference in arts. In a domain of arts, teachers who have studied or researched some specific field that they were interested in during their university studies. It can be assumed that these art or drama teachers would have sort of specific preference as well as their vast knowledge in a range of arts. In that case, probably student's work or the end production are assessed based on teacher's studies background or preference. Unlike academic subjects, such as maths and language, the answer of exam in art-based subjects cannot be just correct or wrong. Teachers perception of student's production is a vital in evaluation and students therefore, cannot find his grade faire in some case.

Students who do not have confidence to speak or act in front of others claim that art-based subjects can discourage their academic performance and self-esteem. Obviously those who don't really enjoy expressing their creativeness or feelings can be enforced to act in a drama class. How horribly these students have to receive poor grades. This can have negative impact on their self- esteem and results in some shortcoming in students academic performance. To make matter worse, if some of them are also not good at maths or language, possibly they find themselves useless.

In my view, let students still have some challenges in art-based subjects, but not give mark on their work. Those who enjoy arts can improve their academic performance without exam in arts-based subjects. While others who are not good at in these subjects should not be hindered by acting uncomfortably in a class or receiving poor grade on their work.