When students evaluate their teachers, teachers can know what they need to improve themselves

[TOEFL]: Agree or Disagree: Students should evaluate the teachers?

Teachers play an important role in educating students at school. Schools can evaluate the teachers by many ways such as schools can see directly what the teachers are teaching in the classrooms or schools can know indirectly from the students. In my perspective, I agree that schools should allow the students to judge their teachers because this is a way for teachers to know about the demands of the students and this is also a way for schools to evaluate the teachers.

First of all, when students evaluate their teachers, teachers can know what the students need to improve theirselves. The students will tell the schools about the quality of the lessons, the method of teaching and the feeling after each lesson. Based on the comments of the students, teachers can change their own ways to be suitable with the students. For example, in my high school, each month, the principal usually sent a form for students to write their comments about the teachers. As I recall, I have written that my teachers should add some presentations and group assignments to each lesson in order to increase the relationship between the students. After reading these comments, my teacher in History class assigns us more assignment of searching about the famous historical characters such as Ho Chi Minh president or Vo Nguyen Giap general. This homework is very interesting and useful for me and my classmates. In short, the students' comments are what students need their teacher to change, to develop.

In addition, when students judge their teachers, schools can also know more about their teachers. Students are the only people who know their teachers most because they are studying under the control of the teachers. The students can know exactly what are bad things or good things of the teachers. For instance, as I mentioned above, my high school allowed the students to evaluate the teachers. The principal also read these forms and he would decide the salary of the teachers or some special courses for teachers to improve teaching skill. That is very good for both students and teachers. Because of these comments, after grade twelve, all of the students in my class passed the entrance exam to the university with very high scores.

To sum up, I definitely agree that schools should ask students to evaluate their teacher in order to help the teachers change their performances and help the schools judge their teachers better. Some people think that evaluating the older people is rude but in that case, I think schools should use this policy so as to have good result at the end of the semester.