【TOEFL】Do students learn more effectively in team work?

I' m going to take toefl test next week>< Hope that someone can help me correct my writing. I'd really appreciate you if you can help me. Thank you in advance!!!

_______________________________

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

When speaking of team work, some people raise their hands with delight, but others might consider it a nasty work. However, In my opinion, I think that working in a team group is more beneficial to students. I will be giving three reasons in the following paragraph.

First, working with other people may improve the students' communication skills. They have to discuss with each other and convey their ideas. Although they may have arguments among the topic or the work load, they can reach a consensus through discussing with each other. For example, I have a lot of group papers in college, and we have to discuss the topic and the presentation. When we disagree with each other's opinion, we have to explain the reason for our suggestion. Through this discussion process , we all find out that our communication skills become better than before. Therefore, I think working on a team may be beneficial to the students' communication skills.

Second, the student can learn something from other people. Since we all have our advantages and disadvantages, we can always learn something from others. For example, when I was in elementary school, we had an art project to present. I discovered that one of my friends is very good at drawing, and she was willing to teach me. On the other hand, I was good at writing words, so we can exchange our skills and learn from each other. So I think that it was a good idea to put the students together since they can learn something new from their team members.

Third, the students can learn to be more responsible when working in a group. Because when you fail to finish your part of the work, you may influence other team members and get a lower grade. Thus, in order to avoid this situation happening, the students may be more responsible for themselves. For example, I had a bad experience of team work in high school. That's because one of our team members failed to finish her part on time, we got a low grade for the project. After that experience, I realized the importance to be responsible when working on a team.

In conclusion, the students can learn much more effectively when working in a team for improvement of communication, learning from other people, and the sense of responsibility.