students' scores and subject assessments - A TOEFL retouches and assignments

Title:

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teachers definitely play a vital role in teaching their students new knowledge as well as guiding them to face the society. Undoubtedly, teachers should make their views about knowledge in the textbook known to students. Then, what about their social or political views, also made known to students? Some people may disagree with this opinion, but I strongly support it.

Nowadays, teachers and parents concern too much about students' scores and subject assessments. Gradually, Chinese educational system has been more and more oriented to examinations instead of mental, physical and several other kinds of developments. As a result, the students only know about their study and homework. What they are good at is reading textbooks. It is really a tragedy. However, all of these things can be changed: Teachers can share their own social, political and other views with their students. They can even launch some debates to let the students argue with their opinions on things other than textbooks. This method of teaching can effectively develop students in all-around aspects.

Now is the information age. Information, news, activities, movements, etc, all kinds of things that you can imagine is publicly displayed on the Internet, magazines, newspapers, TVs. Since information is public, any people can read, and even comment or discuss with others, so are the students! Then how can teachers and parents make sure that their kids are not reading other people's wrong ideas? How can they know if their kids would do just as those negative people do? Teachers and parents really should do something to prevent this from happening. But what can they do? For teachers, they can make their social and political views known to students in the classroom. And they can listen to student's opinions and discuss if it is right or wrong, positive or negative. Therefore, in this way, teachers can actually guide the students to think and behave properly and positively to the society.

All in all, I support the idea of teachers' making their social and political opinions known to students. This is comparatively helpful and instructive to students' all-around development.