'Nowadays, students study a gamut of subjects in different fields'. TOEFL - Writing question

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Universities should require students to study many subjects in different fields rather than just their major subjects.

Nowadays, universities require their students to study a gamut of subjects in different fields rather than just their major subjects. Yet it is an inefficient method of education and needs to be changed. I believe universities should not make their students to study many subjects in different fields.

First, it is easier for the students to focus on a single subject rather than a wide range of subjects. Completing a major requires a student to study significant number of courses in a particular area. If they have to study more number of subjects, focusing on all of them will be a task. For instance, a student of majors in architecture when forced to study subjects irrelevant to her field will be unable to focus not only on her major subject but also on the other subject assigned by the university. This would hamper the grades of the student and also her state of mind.

Second, majoring in a subject makes one a master of that area. This provides a better career prospects for the student. The companies while hiring will know that you have special expertise of the subject and they will provide better growth prospects. However, if many subjects are forced upon a student and if the student somehow manages to complete all the subjects, it will still hinder the student's career aspects. For instance, if a company is hiring a candidate with Java skills it will prefer a candidate with majors in programming rather than a candidate with generalized resume. The company will presume the latter candidate to be jack of all and master of none.

All in all, it is always preferable for the students to study in their major subjects rather than a wide range of subjects in different irrelevant fields.