Students should study the science of food or learning important subjects? Discuss

IELTS Writing Task 2:

Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think students should spend time on other important subjects.

DISCUSS BOTH VIEWS AND GIVE YOUR OPINION.

With regard to the enhancement of education, there is a great deal of submissions being made to the study program for students and the subjects included therein. While some argue that the science and preparation of food should be added into courses, others insist on giving priority to more important subjects. This essay will analyse both views and argue in favour of the latter.

To begin with, the experiences which the science of food brings are valuable. Firstly, scientific knowledge about food encourages students to take a health-conscious approach to their dietary patterns. Because when students understand how food constituents like proteins, fats, carbohydrates, affect their physical condition, they may become more willing to adopt a balanced diet in preference to fast food. Moreover, possessing a solid understanding of food and cooking can ensure not only general well-being but also serve as a basic survival skill. Students who are proficient with culinary skills will be more capable of adjusting to living on their own. For instance, they can make their own food without either readily available dishes at homes or processed foods at convenience stores.

On the other hand, the students are dedicated to the formal majors selected by governments and institutions that carry advantages. The primary goal of school education should be to prepare students for one pivotal end that is the university entrance exam. This means placing more emphasis on compulsory subjects like Math, Literature and English, which are practical subjects for evaluating students' performance. Furthermore, the academic subjects can provide an individual with the foundational knowledge to smoothly transit into a professional working environment. For example, logical thinking acquired during math lessons and critical thinking fostered by literature are prerequisites to nuanced problem-solving skills.

Overall, despite the several benefits offered by the incorporation of food science into students' curriculum, I am in favour of the opinion that students should devote their time mainly to core subjects.