Can students study whatever they want or science and technology is a must?

Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

science is not everything in this world

While there are people who say it is important for college graduates to learn different subjects in university, there are people who believe that they only need courses that proved to be effective for their future. There two points of views shall be discussed, in addition to my personal ideas on the subject.

Firstly, there are people that believe when a student enters to the university must follow his/her dreams. It means that they are free to choose their major and it does not matter which one it is going to be because that would guarantee success in the future. For example, I know classmates that came to software engineering major just because their parents made them to. Most of them quit after the third semester.

Secondly, some people believe that in today's world, science and technology have the most opportunity to make money, so students should follow this path to become successful. They say that students can follow other subjects as a hobby. For example, one of my friends that were a fantastic painter studied civil engineering and also continues his patio in art. He is a successful engineer who recently started an exhibition of his paintings.

Lastly, in my opinion, people should learn what they love, because the learning process is not easy, there are a lot of obstacles in the way that a person can overcome, if and only if he/she loves his major. For example, there was a lot of coding in our major (software engineering) which is not easy and requires love and patience. I think the main reason that people quit was that they could not hold the pressure, they were not happy.

In conclusion, two different points of views were discussed whether students should continue their education in what they want or it is science and technology which is important. In my opinion, while science can bring a lot of money for one, they money does not guarantee happiness.