Students to take a variety of courses? - AW-No.1-随你-Education

When choosing what to learn in the university, more and more students would taught to arrange their curriculum oriented to their major. However, education is not only a process only with pragmatic purpose, it should make individuals truly cultivated, especially for the university education. So I am in favor of the claim that universities should require their students to take a variety course outside of their major in order to support their future development.

To begin with, learning a variety course relevant to different areas could help college students get a well-rounded education which would definitely useful when they face all kinds of tasks in the future. Companies usually pay a higher evaluation on the people who are proficient in more than one skill. One reason for this is that problems in personal life or in business affairs can be different. And those cases only could be well dealt with when you have a broader scope of knowledge. Another reason for companies prefer people knows more than their major. Those people could make more profits and be easier to create something new. For example, a person who has both knowledge of finance and computer could easily adapt the knowledge of computer to the work of finance all though his/her major is finance. So universities should encourage their students to take a variety of courses outside their major to meet this requirement of job markets.

University education, as a entity, could not be well performed only by just doing good in the major. In fact the knowledge seeming to be of no relationship in different areas contributes to a profound understanding of each other. Thus having a more wide scope of knowledge outside your major helps a clearer awareness of your major. Philosophy which usually thought to be a subject dealing with humanity or social issues and metaphysics has nothing to do with practical science contribute to the understanding even creation in physical science and engineering. Many great scientists in the history, like Albert Einstein or Newton, are outstanding in both philosophy principles and physical science. And in their biography they usually thanked for the inspiration brought by music, drawing or some basic rules in philosophy. So if college students want to gain significant achievements in their major field, knowledge from other subjects helps them realize it.

Nevertheless, students who specialize will have advantages over those who just dabbled in many field. Specialization means time efficiency, accuracy in production, less mistakes and lower cost. And these would definitely be an advantage when it comes to find a job for college students. Another supportive factor for a specialized education system is that it is easily to make students focus on their interest and relevant curriculum. Usually it is boring to sit in the archaeology class for a chemistry student. And the purpose of elite education in universities needs its curriculum to be deeply profession in one area. We cannot deny that a totally irrelevant class or an uninterested course is a waste of time for college students. Therefore, universities should well plan its curriculum and perform a good guidance.

No education system is perfect. And no one can accomplish his/her learning in limited life time. While knowledge from kinds of areas can be helpful, we should focus on our limited time in our main course.