IELTS TASK 2 : Study abroad (advantages and disadvantages)

Topic : discuss advantages and disadvantages of studying abroad

It is an irresistible trend that nowadays, co-operation between eastern countries and western countries is becoming stronger and stronger, creating hundreds of studying abroad opportunity to eastern students. However as coin has two sides, this situation brings both benefits and drawbacks.

Studying abroad brings a number of advantages. The most obvious advantage is that it could possibly broaden our mind. By studying overseas, students could have many chances to interact with many people from different backgrounds and culture, experience the completely contrasting method of studying and working from Westerners. This would in turn enhances not only their theoretical knowledge but also their practical knowledge, playing a prominent role in their future careers. Furthermore, studying overseas encourages people to perfect themselves. Instead of enjoying the comfort of living in their house, many courageous students decide to study in different foreign countries where they have to organize their lives independently, for instance, cooking on their own or working hard for single pennies. Accordingly, students will be equipped with many valuable qualities such as independence, initiative and especially adaptation, which would perfectly vital for overcoming numerous challenges in their lives.

Studying abroad also has some disadvantages. The main drawback of it is, in my opinion, imposes financial burden on students's families. According to recent research, more than 50% of the families have to borrow large bank loans to afford for students' tuition fees. This means money expected to be spent for families's absolute necessity is now invested in student tertiary education without being guaranteed for the efficiency. Another disadvantage is that studying abroad leads to the situation in which students have to separate from the families, their friends and their lover, thus ruining the their relationship as a result of the enforced distancing. Many students drop out from foreign university to come back home due to inresistance of homesickness.

To conclude, I think studying overseas brings both advantages and disadvantages. However all of disadvantages could be overcome if students made a precise analysis before deciding whether to study overseas or not.