"The study of history has value only when it is relevant to our daily life." -GRE

The author's broad assertion is about the study of history. He said that only when the research of history is relevant to our daily lives does the study value. Nevertheless, in my view, the history can be valuable when it is connected with today's people, but can also play an important role when it is not related to the problems being considered in modern time.

The history happened long before, like science discoveries, still learned and functioning correctly. Those science works are making valuable contribution to today's researches. No matter Newton's laws of motion, free market economy theory and so on, the contributions of history scientists for the world covering all aspects of daily lives, found the basics of knowledge today. The study of history provides us a new version that how people founded the theory and the study makes us understood the ideas much further. So that it provides clues and methods for today's researches. Without the history, one cannot easily get the overall outlook of the world. For example, in my study area, the measure of intensity of the electromagnetic radiation emitted by a black body found by scientist Planck teaches us the method that digs the inner connection of data using mathematic skills. And today's Mathematic Modeling Competition around the world is an application which learns from the past experiences. So we can say the study of history has played a significant role and it is helpful to our daily lives.

The historic buildings, which may seem unrelated to today's life, are precious treasure. The Great wall in China, the pyramids in Egypt are built thousands of years ago which become the tourism destination today. We enjoy the amazing historical remains and loss ourselves in them. Heritage is our legacy from the past, what we live with today, and what we pass on to future generations. They are important to all people of the world, irrespective of their location. Like the World Heritage Site, which involves superlative natural phenomena of the world and the masterpieces of human creative genius, is the best gift from the history. Besides, history memorizes many lessons along with the development of human beings. It is relevant to our daily life, but it is a study of the discipline as an end in itself and as a way of providing "perspective" on the problem of the present. The famous philosopher George Santayana once said:" Those who cannot learn from history are doomed to repeat it." The World War II's lesson is remembered all over the world even it has nothing to do with today's life. We will not forget the bloody lesson forever.

In conclusion, all above reveal that the history is valuable whether it is connected with today's people or not. History is the stepping stones to human progress. Whether it is related to our daily lives or not the study of history will continue and will correct our direction of progress.