Studying abroad has become a very common phenomenon in the modern world - globalisation result

Some international student choose American roommates. Others choose roommates from their own countries. Compare the advantages of having an American roommate with the advantages of having a roommate from your country. Which kind of roommate would you prefer? Why? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

As a result of globalization, studying abroad has become a very common phenomenon in the modern world. These international students need to choose whom they would be putting up during their academic period. While some of them prefer to have American roommates, others wish to share the room with mates from their own country. Both options have their own advantages and disadvantages. However, If I am to choose my roommate, I would prefer to share a room with an American.

First, associating with an American roommate would help you learning English much faster. As everybody knows that practice makes perfect, living with an American roommate would give you numerous inevitable opportunities to practice your English skill. Therefore, your every day life would be more challenge. On the other hand, if you choose to stay with mates from your own country, most of the time you will try to rely on them and have less chances to practice your English skill.

Second, sharing a room with an American would help you learn how to adapt with people from different cultures properly. Narrow-minded people who never have a chance to live with foreigner likely to have a hard time adapt with people from different cultures. Living with American mates is an excellent chance to practice. Although living with mates from your own country would be easier because you didn't have to adapt to anything at all, you would lose these opportunities.

Finally, as far as I'm concerned, both kinds of roommates are good depending on how fast you can adapt yourself with foreigners. If you are an easy adapter, an American roommate will be ideal for you because you will have more opportunities to learn new things. But if you think you aren't fast enough, roommate from your own country will be better because you will have friends who share your situation and help each other studying. All in all, I still prefer an American roommate.