essay about studying abroad in spain

What do you plan to get out of studying abroad in spain?

"For my part, I travel not to go anywhere, but to go. I travel for travel's sake. The great affair is to move." - Robert Louis Stevenson

Studying abroad will liberate my mind from the prism of American chauvinism. The exposure and experiences I will garner studying abroad will allow me to grow as an Independent thinker.

I have never left the United States. My morals, customs, ethics and ideologies are all reinforced by American culture. My morals can be found in books from American writers such as Toni Morrison, Jonathan Kozol, and James Baldwin. My daily customs telecasted on MTV in documentary format also known as "reality shows". My ethics parallel to comedians Bill Mahr and Jon Stewart. My ideologies reflected on blogging sites such as the Huffington Post. I feel secluded. Never leaving this country has trapped me in this box of liberal conformity. It is time for me to step out of my comfort zone and into a state of unfamiliarity.

Living in another country will give me an opportunity to explore not only a foreign land but myself as a human being. Studying abroad will broaden my horizons. It will allow me to reevaluate the way I see the world. This is crucial for a better understanding of the ambiguous. What is normal? What is respect? What is beauty? What is art? What is justice? What is rational? These questions sound simple but are extraordinarily complex. For instance, a hermit could never answer these questions. Their worlds are too predicated on conventionality. Their definition of beauty, art, respect, and justice are wholly subjective to their immediate environment andis, therefore, inadequate. Having a more objective view on life will allow me to have a better appreciation for life.

Spain is the ideal location to study abroad. Its deep history, sophisticated culture, and most importantly superb food, allow it to stand hands and knees over other countries in Europe. I plan on living it up in Spain. Just thinking about the Seville Cathedral and its creative Gothic design as well as its deep roots in Catholicism sends chills down my spine. Witnessing the bravery, heart, and excitement of bullfighting will be exhilarating. The Flamenco is the most fascinating part of Spanish Culture. Everything from the dance, the harmonics to the singing intrigues me. Spains vibrant culture will allow me to gro

Going to college it is not just about learning out of the book but also learning through experiences. Studying abroad is one of the few learning experiences college students have that will stay with them for the rest of their lives. Traveling broadens the mind. It allows students to experience other ways of living and thinking that will enrich them as human beings.