IELTS WT2: Studying other country's cultures

the knowledge about foreign culture

People today often use the Internet to learn about the culture of other countries. This means that it is not that important to travel to other countries. To what extent do you agree of disagree with this opinion?

In recent decades, many people have started to learn a new culture from the Internet rather than through traveling. Although some traditional learners would oppose this studying method, the use of the Internet has brought various benefits for cultural learners.

There are a number of reasons why studying culture online could benefit learners. First, since the performance of the Internet connection has been improved, this had led to the popularity in digital education. In fact, online courses could supply learners all source of knowledge from the basics to the advances, with a reasonable joining fee. Second, it is true that with the help of the Internet, global citizens have a great opportunity to get in touch together. Social media, for instance, is considered as a place for exploring other country's cultures since users can have a chance to communicate with foreigners, which can gain valuable information about it.

Another reason that encourages people to move to online learning is because of the price and time. Compared to the traditional way, studying on the Internet seems to be less costly for individuals since the cost of electronic devices is affordable. Therefore, while traveling to experience a new culture is only suitable for a person who is financially in life, but a computer could provide learning opportunities for most people. Moreover, it is more flexible for learners to plan for their studying. If it is not for the Internet, learning for other cultures would be impossible for full-time workers since their timetable is limited.