Studying the past and reasons requiring us to know about history

Some people assume that the present is hardly getting involved in the history, so learning about the past is not important. In this essay, I am going to give several reasons of studying this subject along with some problems emerge if it is not taught at school.

In my opinion, there are two main reasons requiring us to know about history. First of all, when the young are reminded of majestic events in the past, their patriotism can be stimulated. For example, after searching information on history to prepare for a presentation at school, my sister now becomes more proud of her country. Moreover, commemorating the past through lessons enables children to gain a reservoir of knowledge and experiences.

If students are not educated history, there will be some negative effects on themselves as well as the society. Without knowing history, the new generation may gradually become ungrateful and neglectful. Besides, the national security and defence will be put in jeopardy due to children lacking historic comprehension. Specifically, a recent magazine has indicated that a country can not survive without being loved by its people.

In conclusion, studying the past plays an important role in nations' existence, as a result, it is crucial for youngsters to learn of. I advocate that the goverment should take more measures to generalize history to the young in particular and the publicity in general.