Should studying subjects that are needed by society be promoted?

Modern societies need specialists in certain fields, but not in others. Some people therefore think that governments should pay university fees for students who study subjects that are needed by society. Those who choose to study less relevant subjects should not receive government funding.

Would the advantages of such an educational policy outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, job opportunities can be found in a myriad of fields. However, the degree of importance of these jobs to society differs from one to the other. In most countries, professions such as doctors, lawyers and accountants are always in high demand whereas people who work in fields related to the Arts, such as music, fashion and design and literature, are considered by many to contribute less to societal development. Hence, a proportion of the society believe that the government should only give financial backing to those who enrol in courses that can allow them to meet the needs of the nation in the near future. However, this begs the question: would such a move be for the greater good or would it prove to be a bane? I, for one, believe that the cons of such a move would far outweigh the pros. I will now state the reasons for my above point of view.

Some people are of the opinion that money makes the world go round and they place high importance on anything that offers monetary gain. Government funding that goes to selected fields that are considered beneficial to the nation would result in some students choosing to further their studies in fields that they are not interested inEven though society will no longer have a lack of specialists in critical fields, the funded students may not be passionate about their jobs and will end up not giving their best to the country.

Moreover, if the country focuses only on critical areas, the other sectors will soon be neglected. For instance, jobs in hotel management are considered less important by some people. Thus, if the above step was taken, the number of graduates who will be available to fill job vacancies in this field will decline in the future. Although such a situation may not seem so serious, it would indeed be a very big blow for the country. This is because the tourism industry usually contributes a lion's share to the country's income. In short, all sectors help the nation in one way or another even though this may not seem to be obvious in some cases.

However, there are some advantages that can be attained if this suggestion were carried out. Firstly, the high job demand in significant fields could be met accordingly. Furthermore, the specialists in fields such as accounting and engineering will be in abundance in the future and this will lead to the progress of a country as a whole. This will be especially evident in Third World countries such as Namibia, Kenya and Indonesia.

In conclusion, it is obvious that such an educational policy will only backfire on the nation. It is indeed true that such a step would bring about some advantages. However, the disadvantages, although not evident now, will certainly bring distinct negative side effects in the future.