Subjects and lesson contents are decided by the authorities or central government

Nowadays, subjects and lesson contents are decided by the authorities or central government. Many people suggest that teachers should decide those contents themselves. To what extend do u agree or disagree?

Recently, government has the main role in deciding all education stuff. Some people believe that is their obligation and it is really hard to make national standard unless lesson contents are deciding by authorities. However, I personally argue that teacher is the one who knows what the subject lesson that their students can learn based on the infrastructure which are provided.

The first reason why government should decide the subject contents is because generally they hold full responsibility of the education system. For example, ministry of education in Indonesia is the one who arrange the syllabus and student's books. It is thus clear that all education stuff should be organized by government.

In addition, national examination standard should be relevant to the content of subject. Taking national examination in Indonesia as an example, the questions of this exam have to be related to syllabus that have been made by government. If lesson content is decided by teachers, there will be different contents of learning among the school that make confusion how to make national examination.

On the other hand, there are some factors that make several students cannot understand the content of lesson such as facilities in laboratory, teacher's ability and so on. That is why teacher is the one who has to decide the learning content because not all schools have the infrastructures that support the learning process. For instance, in physics subject, according to the subject content that are arranged by government , students should understand the interference of light process, while some schools do not have the optical instrument as the main matter in the learning. It is the contradiction where teachers are demanded teaching based on the lesson content that had be made by government with the facilities which are provided. There is no doubt that lesson contents should be invaded by teachers.

The aforementioned evidence shows that although deciding subject content is the obligation of authorities and the only one way to implement the national examination, government should not generalize the contents of subject due to the availability of infrastructure in schools is not equal in some countries. I strongly recommended for government to treat alike for all schools before deciding the lesson content.