IELTS; Subjects taught in schools are to be decided by central authorities or teachers?

The subjects that children are taught in schools are decided by central authorities. Some people say that teachers, not politicians, should be responsible for this task. To what extent you agree or disagree with this opinion?

School education plays a significant role in nurturing one's life. The conflict on who decides of the curriculum of study, whether it is teachers or politicians, is a never ending story. In my perspective, I would say, it should be teachers.

Being in the teaching profession for years, teachers would be able to clearly picturise the ideas and topics which needs to be highlighted in the education programme. Teachers clearly know "what and what not" can be inculcated to a child's mind. For example, if the biology text book needs revision, teachers are the ones who can articulate the updates to be made in the biology book than a politician.

Politicians try to get popular and stay in students minds by publishing their life history in text books. They also, print comic pictures of the other politicians to make fun, which are no way related to studies. Moreover, most of the politicians are uneducated , illiterates and how can they be pronouncing the proper school syllabus?

On the contrary, many argue that only politicians know the happenings around the world and they can be helpful in upgrading the syllabus. Also, since teachers are always obsessed in dealing with the same books for years together, they cannot be a better critique to comment on the syllabus. Apart, education programmes reflects the standards amongst various nations and only central authorities can be deciding on the subjects comparing with international students.

To conclude, it is the teachers, who can better understand the capabilities of the children and the student's world. They are the responsible person for making the best syllabus for the school-going children.