Does Success Come from Luck or Work?

hi again,

can you guys, please, give me an opinion about this one? i am not so sure about it.

thank you

"When people succeed in life, it is because of hard work. Being lucky has nothing to do with success in life." Do you agree or disagree with the quotation above? Use specific reasons and examples to explain your position.

Successful people are...

Success is every person goal. We all need to succeed, to achieve our standards. Both luck and hard work play a role in being successful; for some people is mostly about luck and for others, luck and hard work in the same amount. You must have the opportunity, the luck to be the right man at the right time and then you need to work hard, to invest alot of time in that activity.

Some people are just born in rich, powerful families and this is the chance of their life. Here is not about hard work. This is just pure luck. Being born in a famous family opens the doors more then anything else. For example, take some generations of politicians, mafia clans, inheritance in the families. A big percent of the today's successful people are coming from decades long rich and powerful families. For example, Bush family, the Rockefellers, etc

An important factor to achieve success is the 'cumulative advantages". Malcolm Gladwell describes this phenomenon very well in his book "Outliers". Some people are successful because they met a chain of opportunities that built their success. Gladwell describes the cases of few people, one of them being Bill Gates. First he was born a in a family with possibilities that could afford to sent him in a private school that at that time had one of the first computer laboratories in United States. He stuck with computers, and with hard work and other opportunities became Bill Gates that we know the today. Gladwell says that the magic number of time that need to be invest to become a professional in your field is around 10.000 hours, which is a huge amount of work.

Today, in the developed societies, success means great career, a lot of money and high standard living, but along the history, different societies have different meaning for being successful. In Sparta, for example, the successful person was a warrior; you could not be a warrior without the skills, the talent that you were born with- the luck-, and then, hard work to develop those skills.

In conclusion, success in life is about having the opportunity to focus your hard work in the field that you have chosen. The opportunity "opens the door", is showing a road and the hard work is like "walking on that road". Many had the opportunity, but only few found the power to work hard and they became successful.