toefl -- success and luck

Q: "When people succeed, it is because of hard work. Luck has nothing to do with success." Do you agree or disagree with the quotation above?

People always ask how to success, some think it is because of hard work, while the others think it is from luck. As far as I am concerned, I accede to the part of hard work, but disagree with the last sentence. The following are the reasons why I think so.

As the proverb goes; "practice makes perfect". People can achieve their dreams by trying again and again, no one can succeed without practice. Let me take myself as an example, when I was a young, my mother took me to learn violin. Personally, I think it is one of the most difficult instruments in the world. It was so hard for me that I couldn't play a complete piece of music when I met my teacher in the next week. I felt extremely disappointed at that time, and I really want to play it well. So that evening, I started to practice as soon as I went back home. I was every awkward in the beginning because I cannot make my hands do different things. But I tried again and again, never gave up. To make my hands be balance, I began with one-hand exercise, and it seems worked. When I went to my violin teacher again, she was so surprised about my remarkable improvement and said; "Good job, girl.", which is one of the most exciting words I have heard till now, so I will never forget this experience. It is the practice that makes me successful.

However, besides hard work, success consists of a lot of factors, among which, luck accounts of the largest. Even though success is mainly result of hard work, we cannot neglect the existence of luck, which is not rational. According to the research on "how the successful men succeed in U.S.", 65% of which say they accomplish their goals only through practice, while 95% of people involved say it is the combination of work and luck that make them successful, even if the hard work is more important than luck for sure. In this conclusion of this report, the author said it indicates the clear ideas that luck is the second basic element for success.

To sum up, it is not so critical to say luck has nothing to do with success. Even though the hard work is the most important element, luck is still not dispensable.