Sugar-based drink consumption (Ielts task 2)

Task 2: People are consuming more and more sugar-based drinks. Why?

What can be done to reduce sugary drink consumption?

There is no arguing that when residents live in modern society, drinks containing carbohydrates have been consumed increasingly prevalent. This essay will outline a number of reasons for this trend and several possible solutions to help tackle the issue.

One of the main causes of this problem is that When a nation's economy developed, this leads to unhealthy habits or hobbies, as a result, the demand of consumers especially youngsters who prefer drinks with a high glycemic index to traditional drinks. For example, in the US, Almost elementary pupils have been equipped with chocolate bars or soft drinks while they go to school, and they argue that it has become a popular trend or even a habit on a daily basis. In addition, Advertisement exerts a great influence on purchasing and using rich in high glycemic items. Corporations have private strategies to raise the sale of sugar-based drinks by advertising from TV to newspapers. For instance, some social experts argue that in recent years children using the internet as a part of their life. Unfortunately, companies producing sugary drinks create plenty of advertising posts through Facebook and Youtube which are regarded as one of the most prevalent websites have a lot of interest in children.

However, high-glycemic drinks are more likely to pose serious health implications such as diabetes or hypertension therefore governments need to adopt a number of viable solutions to deal with this problem. First and foremost, authorities should exert pressure on the producer in this field by increasing the tax of sugary products, this can decline the levels of production of drinks containing too much sugar. One particular example in France, the government has raised the tax in the production of soft drinks year-on-year, resulting in pushing up the price of soft drink items to restrict the demands of consumers. Second, state subsidies that should be invested to encourage their citizens can cut down using sugary drinks by informing some serious effects via newspapers or social media or organizing some health-related events in the universities or academic institutions.

In conclusion, the habits of young people's lifestyles and advertisements in order to maximize profits are two main reasons for using more and more soft drinks. But effectively mentioned measures need to be taken to tackle these problems.