Do you agree that imposing a heavy tax on sugary products can discourage potential consumers?

Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar

Nowadays, various mass-produced food and beverage which are loaded with sugar and other concerning preservatives are claimed to be responsible for the significant surge in health-associated problems. Therefore, many suggest that imposing a heavy tax on such products can discourage potential consumers. From my perspective, I believe that this solution can be sufficient.

First of all, the introduction of said law will expectedly be a heated debate. Since most economical goods available in the current market fall under the "unhealthy" category, with such a tremendous tax increase, the majority of the population would not be able to afford such luxury. However, it is not certain that the price of the more health-beneficial products will be deducted. Therefore, inflation will assumingly take place, leading to public controversy.

On the other hand, it is crucial that government funding is allocated to the production of less health-deleterious food as well as the promotion of sustainable consumerism. It is likely that once an individual is committed to a healthy lifestyle and fully acknowledges the perks of the alteration, they will be willing to maintain such practice in the long run. Besides, if health-conscious diets are broadcasted, the related illness would be curbed. As a consequence, the global health care system will be elated and may switch its focus to more innovative developments.

In conclusion, the initial adaption to such a drastically different diet may cause unease. However, a sharp rise in tax imposition on junk as well as the promotion of sufficient eating habits food should be proficient at disregarding people from self-damaging.